This compilation presents both a comprehensive explanation of the current theory of the State and a highly detailed examination of the contributions of the most eminent political thinkers and the most important trends in state philosophy to today’s understanding of what the idea of ‘State’ refers to.

In this work, renowned philosophers, historians, and experts in social sciences, cultural studies and law from universities and research institutes throughout Europe present a multifaceted examination of state philosophies from ancient times to post democracy in fifteen equally weighted chapters. Each chapter is based on a specific focus, beginning with classical and conservative state philosophies, and stretching from liberal and feminist thinking to anarchist and religious ideologies. This book places a great deal of emphasis on the underlying principles of states in other cultures, including China, India, the Arab world and post-colonial Africa.

The book’s concluding observations on the idea of the State of the future outline the problems of loss of sovereignty, state collapse and post democracy against a backdrop of globalization, economization and individualization.

Contributions by:
Helga Albrecht, Andreas Anter, Olaf Asbach, Friedrich Balke, Ernst Baltrusch, Michael Becker, Hannah Bethke, Karl-Heinz Breier, Michael Brie, Norbert Campagna, Lars Distelhorst, Sabine Doyé, Dominik Finkelde, Oliver Flügel-Martinsen, Alexander Gantschow, Eva Geulen, Gerhard Göhler, Dieter Grimm, Martin Gronau, Gregor Hain, Hendrik Hansen, Leonhard Harding, Oliver Hidalgo, Wilhelm Hofmann, Frauke Höntzsch, Dana Ionescu, Matthias Jestaedt, Dirk Jörke, John Kannankulam, Stefan Koslowski, Oliver W. Lembcke, Rochus Leonhardt, Roland Lhotta, Mathias Lindenau, Marion Löffler, Gundula Ludwig, Günter Maschke, Jean-Christophe Merle, Dominique Fabian Miething, Andreas Niederberger, Claudia Opitz-Belakhal, Henning Ottmann, Gregor Paul, Thore Prien, Walter Reese-Schäfer, Claudia Ritzi, Samuel Salzborn, Stefano Saracino, Birgit Sauer, Peter Seyferth, Thomas Schölderle, Hans-Martin Schönherr-Mann, Ulrich Seeber, Veith Selk, Harald Sippel, Tine Stein, Kazuhiro Takii, Ulrich Thiele, Andreas Vasilache, Rüdiger Voigt, Christian Wendt, Stefanie Wöhl, Joachim Wurst, Holger Zapf and Barbara Zehnpfennig.